5 Important Things To Know About Covid-19 Exposure Notification Laws

Employment Law February 28th, 2023
Covid-19-Exposure-Notification-Email-980x653 Covid-19-Exposure-Notification-Email-980x653

AB-2693 addresses how employers are to handle COVID-19 exposure in the workplace in California. The regulations for employers regarding COVID-19 exposure were previously outlined in the California Labor Code under sections 6325 and 6409.6. Here’s what changes with AB 3693.


When A COVID-19 Exposure Is Suspected


Whether the exposure is known or if it is suspected, your employer has a specific set of requirements that it is expected to follow.

The old regulations and changes are as follows:

  1. Written notification to any employee who may have been in contact with or exposed to the person who has or suspects that they have COVID-19. That notification must be sent within 24 hours of learning of a potential COVID-19 exposure incident. Change – AB-2693 removes the practice of providing written notice but adds additional options that employers are required to follow when a COVID-19 exposure incident occurs.


Those include:

  1. The employer may provide written notice or follow other notification methods that are commonly used by the employer to alert employees to immediate changes. That process can be as simple as posting a notice on the front door of the office or sending text messages or emails. All notices are to be available within 24 hours of the employer learning about COVID-19 exposure.
  2. The notice must be available for 15 calendar days – the general time for the emergence of COVID-19.
  3. The notice must be posted in English and additional languages spoken by members of the workforce.
  4. The notice must also be posted in the area where other required notices are posted – for example, next to the minimum wage poster.


Requirements for Notification of COVID-19 Exposure


AB-2693 lists the requirements that the employer notice must contain. For employers, the list makes it easy to ensure that all required information is available to the employee.

Those requirements include:

  • The date that the confirmation of a positive COVID-19 test was given to the employer. That date begins the countdown for the next 15 days before the notice can be removed.
  • Employers are no longer required to inform non-employees, though subcontractors are still considered an employee in this situation.
  • The area where the exposure occurred – For example, the second-floor accounting area.
  • The Contact information for the person or department in charge of providing additional information or resources to employees who might be exposed.
  • The method of contact information required by an employee who wants their workspace decontaminated and information regarding the plan of action by the employer for disinfecting working areas.


Contact DLaw For More Information About California’s COVID-19 Laws


Workers in California are protected by very strict labor codes. When employees feel they have been discriminated against, injured on the job, or retaliated against they should discuss their situation with an employment lawyer. In California, DLaw offers legal counsel for employees who need to discover their legal rights and options. To learn more about how to protect yourself from an aggressive employer, reach out to our team at (818) 275-5799. An employment lawyer will discuss your case and help you understand your rights and options.

Share article

Ready to get started?

Contact us now for a free consultation to find out how we can help you.